The Vine Warm-Up Prompts

In Creative Writing, we were given the task to respond to three different prompts in the form of prompts. Below are all three prompts and responses.

Prompt One

The man wasn’t angry, wan’t sad. He had no emotions. The hill he stood on swayed in his vision, and the fog around him swirled in thousands of different directions. The man fell to the ground, short fluttering breaths giving him barely any oxygen. He stumbled around for a moment, before stopping completely and looking ahead, in which he saw another man. The other man’s hands were in his pockets, and the two stared at one another before the other man shimmered away, as if a mirage in a sun-baked desert. The man stared in astonishment as the other man faded away, the fog taking his place. The man ran to the place that the other man stood, his heart pattering and his breath quickening. He scrambled around for a moment before he heard a screeching sound from above him, a sound like metal scraping against metal in a shrill cry of agony. He fell to his knees as bright light sliced through the fog. A dark sphere above descended onto him, a circle in the middle opening like a trap door.

Prompt Two

What are ten free things that I am thankful for? For starters, I am thankful for life. It’s given to me at no cost whatsoever. I am also thankful for other people, who I can hang out with at no cost. I’m thankful for friends, which help me through hard times. I’m thankful for my parents, who help me in every way possible. I’m thankful for the sun, which gives us warmth and light. I am thankful for love, which helps people in the darkest of times. I’m thankful for the Earth, which gives me a home to live in. I am thankful for oxygen, which keeps me breathing. I am thankful for colors, which gives us a beautiful and exciting view of the world around us. And lastly, I am thankful for public WiFi, so I can have the internet wherever I go!

Prompt Three

The simmering green lights danced in the blue sky, swirling in many different directions. The boy stood up in awe. He wore a red baseball cap, a green hoodie, and blue jeans, the opposite of what he needed in the environment he was in. He wrapped his arms around his chest, sinking to the white ground, bathed in green lights. He curled into a ball as the lights continued to dance, expanding to cover the whole sky. Despite the howling winds and the nipping temperatures, the boy felt safe, as if he were a home. The boy’s story began there, in the freezing arctic. A wretched environment meant for only the strongest of people. This boy would be just that, the strongest yet. But for now, he needed a kick start. The growls behind him did just that. He turned in surprise as a white beast approached him, glowing in the green light. He gasped and turned away. Although he was inexperienced in the new world he was in, he knew that the shimmering white teeth and long claws weren’t friendly. He got up as the thing approached, and then he picked up his feet and ran. The thing followed him.

One thought on “The Vine Warm-Up Prompts

  1. marthapcms2016 says:

    First off you had really great writing, like when you said “as if a mirage in a sun-baked desert”. You added so much good detail, and your story’s seemed thought out. Your writing is hard to criticize, but if I had to I would only say that in the beginning you said prompts a lot. Also, you didn’t explain why a green hoodie and red cap would be a bad thing to wear in prompt 3. I really liked the white beast you added in prompt 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *